Letter from the Transition Co-chairs

Dear Governor-elect Rauner:

We are pleased to submit this transition report to you and your administration. We believe the strategies and near-term actions contained in this report will jump-start the process of returning Illinois to its position of prominence among the nation's most competitive, efficient, and compassionate states.

The goal of our work over the past eight weeks has been to help accelerate the transformation toward the state we envision. Illinois has decades of structural challenges to overcome, and as a result a transformation will not occur in the course of a single transition in leadership, in the first 100 days, or even in the first year or two of your administration. Shared sacrifice and difficult decisions will be necessary for some time. Our goal in providing this report is to begin this process as quickly and effectively as possible.

This report benefited greatly from the commitment of hundreds of people—leaders from business, philanthropy, and the public sector as well as experts and policy makers. Collectively, they dedicated thousands of hours to share their insights, identify promising strategies of other states, and discuss potential tactics.

From the outset, we were guided by several principles: to be comprehensive in evaluating policies; to be rigorous and fact-based in our analysis; and to be inclusive and nonpartisan, to ensure that promising ideas were considered regardless of the source.

While it was our charge to prepare this report, we stand ready to support your administration's efforts to implement its recommendations and others you see fit to embrace. Beyond party affiliation and ideology, we are all Illinois residents. As such, we have a vested interest in helping the state succeed.

Sincerely,

Transition Co-chairs

Jim Alexander Arabel Alva Rosales Tony Anderson Eleni Bousis Corey Brooks Andrea Brown Gloria Cardenas Cudia Beth Christie Mark Cozzi Bill Daley Jim Edgar Lula Ford Sarah Frey-Talley Rob Funderburg John Gates Ron Gidwitz Ron Huberman Ed McMillan James Meeks Doug Oberhelman

Glen Poshard Ryan Ruskin Manny Sanchez Aaron Schock Jim Schultz Jil Tracy Willie Wilson Phyllis Wise